it’s beginning to smell a lot like christmas

man, did the smell of these cookies take me back to grandma’s kitchen! she always made pfeffernusse for christmas and i got to help roll the cookies into balls. i made some of these last year but using a more modern version of the recipe where they’re ready to eat right away. traditional pfeffernusse are made around thanksgiving and then stored in a pillowcase until christmas. the cookies are soft right when they come out of the oven, but then harden – and over time, become soft again. time also allows the flavors to develop.

this is definitely a cookie that i appreciate more with age; while i loved helping my grandma make them, i didn’t actually like them as a kid. they are a spice cookie with fairly complex flavors, and my palate was more appreciative of grandma’s homemade peanut butter cups!

my mom wasn’t sure if she had grandma’s recipe, so i found a traditional german pfeffernusse recipe online that is basically the same. the black pepper and anise extract are what really makes these smell and taste like the legit pfeffernusse grandma used to make. i couldn’t find cardamom at the store, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. my process is slightly different than grandma’s, as i’m storing them in ziploc bags to age rather than a pillowcase. 🙂 as i was making these, i wished i would have cooked and baked more with my grandma when i was younger. but, it’s nice to know that i’m keeping her spirit alive when i make her recipes.

About Liv

i have a lot of hobbies. i cook and bake – usually, from scratch. i paint, though not as often as I would like. i love to make pottery on the wheel, though this hobby fell by the wayside while I was in grad school. now that I’ve finished, I’m looking forward to potentially getting back into ceramics and devoting more time and energy to all of my hobbies. my mom got me hooked on refinishing garage sale or thrift shop furniture into beautiful, rich pieces for the home. and my true love is crochet – i love the feeling of achievement in taking a ball of yarn and a hook and turning it into a beautiful afghan or purse or set of coasters. in some way or another, all of these hobbies center around making things – thus, creation nation.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to it’s beginning to smell a lot like christmas

  1. Pingback: just call me martha | livscreationnation

Your Two Cents

