this has nothing to do with creating things

but i don’t have a blog about my everyday life, so this will have to do. i just went for a run for the first time in ages – it’s in the low 60’s, sunny, and beautiful outside so after lazing around all day feeling like i haven’t accomplished much of anything over spring break, i finally got up the motivation to actually go. the purpose of this post is to remind myself the next time i am thinking about going for a run but just don’t quite feel like i have the energy…do it! it always takes practically every fiber of my being to convince myself to go, and then when i do…i enjoy it, and i feel GREAT when i am finished. physically i feel great from the workout, but it also is a huge self-esteem boost and improves my mood. so why don’t i jump at the chance to go running constantly, if it energizes me and makes me feel so great? who knows. but hopefully this post will remind me the next time i think i don’t have the energy to go for a run!

i’m going to use the same strategy i did last summer to keep with it – sign up for a race every month or so to give me something to work toward. i am not a very athletic person, but i am competitive, including with myself – so each time, i want to beat my personal best and that gives me the push to make myself work a little harder. i would love to do a half-marathon at the end of the summer…we’ll see!

About Liv

i have a lot of hobbies. i cook and bake – usually, from scratch. i paint, though not as often as I would like. i love to make pottery on the wheel, though this hobby fell by the wayside while I was in grad school. now that I’ve finished, I’m looking forward to potentially getting back into ceramics and devoting more time and energy to all of my hobbies. my mom got me hooked on refinishing garage sale or thrift shop furniture into beautiful, rich pieces for the home. and my true love is crochet – i love the feeling of achievement in taking a ball of yarn and a hook and turning it into a beautiful afghan or purse or set of coasters. in some way or another, all of these hobbies center around making things – thus, creation nation.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Your Two Cents

